ABTT Annual Awards 2007 winners

Tuesday, 19 June 2007
ABTT Annual Awards 2007 winners
UK - The winners of this year's Annual Awards and the Technician of the Year, were presented with their Hook Clamp trophies - jointly sponsored by Andolite & Triple E - at the Annual Awards Dinner, sponsored by PRG Europe and held at London's Commonwealth Club.

Chairman of the judges, Robin Townley, ABTT Hon. Secretary, remarked that there were again more nominations this year than ever before and that nominations continued to arrive from the ABTT Theatre Show floor, well into the morning.

Judging took place throughout the day, with the final decision made shortly before the start of the Awards Dinner in the evening.

The ABTT Sound Product of the Year 2007 went to Orbital Sound for the Zaxcom digital radio mic system which the judges described as "very impressive, forward thinking application of digital technology".

Other awards included: Lighting Product of the Year: Global Design Solutions for Blues System; Stage Engineering or Rigging Product of the Year: Unusual Rigging for Revolution; Widget of the Year: The Smart Clamp by Robolights; Theatre Show Stand of the Year 2007: J&C Joel.

The ABTT Technician of the Year 2007 went to Othman 'Hoffman' McGregor-Read of the Hackney Empire, London. Summing up this year's recipient, Petrus Bertschinger, Hoffman's friend and colleague, said, "Known to all as Hoffman or Hoff, he is one of Britain's greatest present day stage managers. By this I mean the technician responsible for overseeing all activities on the stage itself - from running the set fit-up, managing the scenic elements of a show, or simply assisting the actors on and off stage.

"He is also the best Hemp Flyman in the country and a man known to be able to carry a stick of Steeldeck under each arm."

(Jim Evans)

Latest Issue. . .

Tweets from our Friends