Voting opens for WhatsOnStage Awards 2011

Monday, 5 December 2011
UK - The nominations for the 12th annual Awards were announced on Friday 2 December - at a star-studded launch party at London's Café de Paris. As ever, the awards are the only UK theatre awards where nominees and winners are selected entirely by the theatre-going public. The nomination process saw a record 11,000 theatregoers involved in the online nomination process.

Entertainment lighting specialist White Light is ponsoring the Best Lighting Designer award for the fourth year running. The company congratulates the six nominated designers: Neil Austin (for Betty Blue Eyes), Paule Constable (for Luise Miller at the Donmar), Oliver Fenwick (for My City at the Almeida), Mark Henderson (for The Kitchen, 13, and Emperor and Galilean at the National),Bruno Poet (for Frankenstein at the National Theatre) and Hugh Vanstone (for Ghost The Musical).

This year's scenic design nominees are: Jon Bausor (for Lord of the Flies at Regent's Park),Miriam Buether (for Decade at St Katharine's Docks), Rob Howell (for Ghost and Matilda the Musical), Robert Jones (for The Wizard of Oz),Mark Tildesley (for Frankenstein)and Paul Wills (for Anna Christie at the Donmar). The full list of nominees can be found at

In this, its fortieth year, White Light has been involved with many of the nominated productions, including the musicals Backbeat, Betty Blue Eyes, Crazy for You, Les Misérables, Matilda the Musical, Shrek the Musical and The Wizard of Oz and the plays The Children's Hour, Driving Miss Daisy, and One Man Two Guvnors.

"Supporting the Awards forms a grand finale to our fortieth anniversary celebration year," comments White Light's managing director, Bryan Raven. "They are surely the most democratic of theatre awards, letting those who see the shows demonstrate their appreciation of those who make the shows. We are delighted to support the Lighting category again to ensure that our field and those who work in it are recognised."

Voting is now open, and continues until the end of January 2012; vote by visiting The awards presentation will then be held on 19 February 2012.

(Jim Evans)

Latest Issue. . .

Tweets from our Friends