KOI Concert Touring & Events shortlist announced
Tuesday, 15 August 2017

UK – The 2017 Knight of Illumination (KOI) Awards has announced this year’s shortlist of lighting and video designers, recognised for their creative work in the Concert Touring & Events sector. The winners will be announced at the 10th anniversary KOI Awards ceremony, to be held at London’s Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith, on 17 September. The KOI Awards was established to publicly celebrate the achievements of lighting and video designers in the sectors of Television, Theatre and Concert Touring & Events. The annual Awards are open to designers whose work has been showcased in the UK in the previous twelve months. The Awards is now one of the most celebrated nights in the live entertainment design industry calendar, with more than 500 leading creatives and professionals in attendance at last year’s celebrations. The Concert Touring & Events shortlist is the third and final shortlist to be announced, following the Theatre and Television categories announced in recent weeks.
The shortlist is as follows:
The GLP Award for Arena: Rob Sinclair for Bastille’s Wild Wild World tour at London’s O2 Arena, Tim Routledge for Take That’s Wonderland Live tour 2017, Jeremy Lechterman and Jackson Gallagher (FragmentNine) for alt-J at London’s O2 Arena.
The Avolites Award for Stage: Paul Normandale (Lite Alt Design) for The Chemical Brothers at the Eventim Apollo London, Michael Straun for The xx on the I See You tour 2017 at Manchester’s O2 Apollo, and Steven Bewley for Stormzy’s Gang Signs and Prayer tour at Brixton O2 Academy.
The MA Lighting Award for Club: Louis Oliver and James Scott (Okulus) for You Me At Six on the Night People tour at Shepherd’s Bush Empire, Tom Campbell for Zeds Dead on the Northern Lights world tour, and Louisa Smurthwaite for Rag’n’Bone Man on the Human tour at Shepherd’s Bush Empire.
The HSL Award for Events: Ben Cracknell for The Olivier Awards at the Royal Albert Hall, Terry Cook (Woodroffe Bassett Design) for Pink Floyd: Their Mortal Remains at the V&A, Mike Smith & Cate Carter (Bryte Design) for Samsung X Royal Blood at the Collins Music Hall London.
The d3 Technologies Award for Video Electronic Content: Louis Oliver and James Scott (Okulus) for Bring Me The Horizon on the That’s the Spirit tour, Sarah Hopper, Damian Hale and David Shepherd (The Third Company) for Sigur Ròs World Tour 2016, Liam Tomaszewski, Mark Calvert, Dave Green and Ross Chappel for Eric Prydz: Epic 5.0 tour.
Chairing the Concert Touring & Events category is Productionomics consultant Jessica Allan, who worked in collaboration with a respected judging panel comprising: Editor of Light&Sound International Claire Beeson, Head of Lighting Design at creative design agency Imagination Jonny Milmer, and Editor of TPi magazine, Kelly Murray.
“We had a record amount of entries for this year’s KOI, with a wonderful variety of shows, all at an incredibly high standard,” says Allan. “The insights into the designs have been fantastic, be it from designers well-established in their craft, to those not long starting out. Our judging panel is truly passionate about giving all the shows equal consideration, no matter the music genre, event, size or budget. It is solely about the lighting and the video content design! It has been a tough job for the judging panel, with lots of debating long into the night, but the decisions have been made!”
Headline sponsors of the 10th Knight of Illumination Awards are OSRAM and Claypaky. Spotlight Sponsors have been announced as ADB, Altman Lighting, Avolites, d3 Technologies, ETC, GLP German Light Products, Green Hippo, Hawthorn, HSL, Light Initiative, MA Lighting, Philips Vari-Lite, PRG XL Video, Robert Juliat and SLX. Hawthorn returns as technical supplier for KOI 2017. The glittering 10th Anniversary ceremony will take place on 17 September at the famous Eventim Apollo, Hammersmith, where the KOI 2017 winners will be announced.

Latest Issue. . .

Tweets from our Friends