PLASA Welcomes Neil Darracott to Executive Committee . . .
Sunday, 10 December 2000
PLASA’s Executive Committee has a new face following the recent elections to decide on the line-up for 2001. Neil Darracott (pictured right), design engineer at Total Fabrications Ltd, now joins the committee, following a closely run contest which saw the final votes cast on December 1st. The elections attracted 123 membership votes in total, compared with 104 last year.

Coming from a rigging and trussing background, Darracott MEng AMIMechE will bring a new perspective to the committee. He joined Total Fabrications at the start of 2000, heading up the design team responsible for the company’s award-winning T2 trussing system; prior to this he worked in a number of fields including broadcasting, lighting, stage machinery, rigging, special projects and demountable structures.

Mick Hannaford (LightProcessor), the serving PLASA chairman, has been re-elected for his second three-year term, while PLASA Treasurer Sammy DeHavilland of Dare Pro Audio/Deco Leisure, has also been voted back to serve a three-year term. Newcomer Darracott fills the other three-year term, whilst Paul Hinkly of LMC Audio, who was co-opted onto the committee last year, was elected for a further one-year term.

The vote means that long-serving committee member Peter Walker of NSR Communications, will now step down. He has served PLASA for the past six years, and for much of that time, was involved with membership issues, particularly related to new applications to the Association. At the December meeting of the executive committee, chairman Mick Hannaford thanked Peter for his time and hard work over the years. The remaining members of the committee are: Paul Adams (PAI Group), Paul De Ville (Lightfactor Sales), Nikki Scott (Stage Technologies), David Hopkins OBE (Audio Design Services) and Diane Grant (DHA Lighting).

Latest Issue. . .