ABTT Award for Emerging Excellence Winner Li Li Peberdy with David Evans, ABTT co-chair
UK - The Association of British Theatre Technicians’ Annual Awards took place on Wednesday evening, 7 June, after the first day of the 2023 ABTT Theatre Show at Alexandra Palace, London. This year, the awards were again generously supported by TAIT.
Ted Moore, director of rental services, said of the Awards: “TAIT is really proud to be here once again to sponsor the ABTT Awards Presentation, one of the best globally in our industry. We wish all the nominees good luck and give congratulations to whoever the winners may be.”
The five highly sought after Awards for Lighting Product, Sound Product, Engineering Product, ‘Widget’ and Stand of the Year, were complemented by the announcement of the recipients of the ABTT Technician of the Year and the ABTT Award for Emerging Excellence which recognise the achievements of individuals both starting out and well-established in their backstage careers.
This was followed by the newest category, the “ABTT Award for Environmental Sustainability” which is presented to someone who ‘over the past 12 months has made a significant contribution to furthering environmental sustainability within the theatre industry’.
The Jury, made up of an experienced group of working practitioners and industry peers, awarded as follows:
Lighting Product of the Year: GDS Drive Hub; highly commended: Lamp and Pencil Candles
Sound Product of the Year: Atlas Show Control for Spatial Audio; highly commended: Nemesis OSCA product range.
Engineering Product of the Year: Harlequin Liberty Switch; highly commended: Hollyland Solid Com C1.
Widget of the Year: Lamp and Pencil's DMX Clock; highly commended: Flints Viking Arm
ABTT Stand of the Year: White Light; highly commended: Lamp and Pencil
Technician of the Year: Adrian Bradley
Award for Emerging Excellence: Li Li Peberdy
Award for Environmental Sustainability: Jennifer Taillefer
The panel of judges comprised Mig Burgess, Alex Cann, Richard Chilvers, David Evans, Andrew Grant, Anette Ollerearnshaw, Caroline Rouse, Matthew Smethurst-Evans, Sam Vincent and Richard Williamson.

Latest Issue. . .