Sound excellence honoured at AMPS Awards
Monday, 13 September 2021
award-trophyThe AMPS Awards are sponsored by Dolby Laboratories, Sennheiser and Twickenham Film Studios
UK - For the first time in two years, The Association of Motion Picture Sound (AMPS) was able to honour its annual awards winners at a physical ceremony which was held on 12 September at The University of Greenwich.
The Queen’s Gambit scooped the Excellence in Sound for a Television Drama accolade and Ronnie’s: Ronnie Scott and his World- Famous Jazz Club received Excellence in Sound for a Factual Film. Excellence in a Production Audio Product went to Sound Devices CL 16 Control Surface and Excellence in a Post-Production Audio Product was awarded to Kraken: Dialogue Editor's Toolkit 1.2.
Two new AMPS fellowships were awarded to supervising sound editor Catherine Hodgson and to Rob Walker, the former chair of AMPS (2018-2021). Fellowships are bestowed in recognition of outstanding achievement in motion picture sound and individual endeavours to work for, and uphold the aims of AMPS.
The winning sound team from The Queen’s Gambit includes Eric Hoehn, Wylie Stateman, Gregg Swiatlowski, Thomas Wallis and Roland Winke. The winning sound talent line-up from Ronnie: Ronnie Scott and his World-Famous Jazz Club includes, Claire Ellis, George Foulgham, Andrew Hewitson, Alastair Sirkett.
AMPS Fellow, Catherine Hodgson was recommended for the AMPS fellowship by Hollywood film editor, sound designer and re-recording mixer, Walter Murch. Some of Catherine’s most notable work has garnered a Royal Television Society Award (The Long Firm in 2004), two BAFTA Awards (Our Mutual Friend, 1999 and Wallander,2010), as well as eight additional BAFTA nominations. Her career has spanned more than 30 years and other project highlights have included Atonement, Pride and Prejudice and Jane Eyre.
AMPS Fellow, Rob Walker was a popular and unanimous choice to chair the AMPS Council between 2018 and 2021. Rob's tenure saw an expansion of AMPS activities and a powerful initiative to improve diversity in AMPS and the wider sound community, which he approached with energy, pragmatism and skill.
Commenting on the 2021 AMPS awards, current chair Andrew Wilson says: “It’s an honour to present the 2021 awards to such talented and worthy winners. The nominations in all the categories were very diverse and any one of them could have taken the honours. I’m also thrilled to present Catherine and Rob with their Fellowships. Each of them has a fantastic track record in the field of film sound as well as having given so much back to the industry.”

Latest Issue. . .

Tweets from our Friends