UK - The eighth annual APRS Sound Fellowship Awards Lunch is to be held at the Roof Gardens, Kensington on Tuesday 18th November.

The APRS's annual celebration, hosted by Sir George and Lady Martin, sees the recognition of six new recipients of the APRS Sound Fellowship bestowed on individuals who made a 'significant contribution to the art, science or business of sound recording'.

This year the association is recognising:

Colette Barber - Studio Manager, Abbey Road Studios

Mutt Lange - British record producer and songwriter

Jim Marshall OBE - Master of 'Loud', Marshall amps and speakers designer

Al Schmitt - US recording engineer, producer, mixer

Roger Waters - Singer, songwriter, composer, co-founder of Pink Floyd

Lamont Dozier - Motown writer/producer

Tom Robinson, BBc 6 Music presenter and singer/songwriter, has been invited to give the 'keynote' address by way of proposing the special 'Harewood Toast'.

The Harewood Toast was introduced to provide an opportunity for a prominent member of the music, film and TV businesses to speak about the relationship they have with the studios and service providers that make their products.

The inaugural proposer of the Harewood Toast was Jeremy Lascelles, the son of the late Earl of Harewood, the founding President of the APRS.

To end the lunch, Ed Bicknell, former Dire Straits manager, will give the 'President's Toast' to recognise the "past, present and future of the APRS", whilst also recounting an anecdote or two of his time in the industry.

Tickets for the lunch can be booked online by going to or emailing:

Special discounts are available for APRS and other trade body members.

(Jim Evans)

Latest Issue. . .