Christian Friedel plays Rudolf Höss, the Nazi commandant of Auschwitz
UK - The Association of Motion Picture Sound (AMPS) has announced The Zone of Interest as the winner of the Excellence in Sound for a Feature Film 2024. The winning sound team comprises Johnnie Burn, Tarn Willers, Mateusz Stasiak and James Ogden
AMPS chair Andrew Wilson said: “The Zone of Interest is a compelling piece of filmmaking and a truly remarkable achievement in the artistry of film sound. The grotesque picture of happy family life next to the horror of Auschwitz is stark, disturbing, and visceral, and it is here that the power of the soundtrack excels. The sonic storytelling is of the highest standard, and the film’s narrative is driven by its creative and crafted sound. AMPS is delighted to recognise the work of Johnnie, Tarn, Mateusz, James and their teams.
“The Association of Motion Picture Sound is proud to have one of 2024's most diverse lists of titles and nominees for its Film Sound Award. We are proud to recognise some of the less well-known roles in both Production and Post-production sound, and to have so many of our talented members on the list of nominees.”
"We are deeply honoured to receive the AMPS Film Sound Award,” said Johnnie Burn. “This accolade is a testament to the hard work, creativity, and dedication that we, along with our incredible team of Brendan Feeney, Simon Carroll, Max Behrens, and everyone at Wave Studios, pour into every project. I feel so grateful to work with Jonathan Glazer on such extraordinary projects. It truly is beyond a privilege to see our commitment to pushing the boundaries of sound in cinema being recognized by my peers.”
Tarn Willers added, "Collaborating with Jonathan Glazer, and Johnnie, was an enriching experience. The work was incredibly challenging but thoroughly rewarding. This award not only celebrates our partnership but also the dedication and craft of my team of Mateusz Stasiak, Jimi Ogden and Filip Sulima and underscores the importance of sound in storytelling. We're grateful to AMPS for this recognition and feel particularly honoured to receive such recognition from our peers."

Latest Issue. . .